L3: Evaluation

In subproject L3, function and integration tests, reliability tests and simulation studies take place. The developed design proposals from M2 are tested in a way that enables the control of its realizations in the demonstrators with the help of the further developed evaluation methods from M4. Benchmark for evaluation are the requirements to a socially acceptable technology design that are also compiled in M2. The evaluations are taking place on three levels.

  • Evaluation of technology: In function and integration tests of the application demonstrators, the control of fulfillment of the functional and non-functional requirements is performed.
  • Evaluation of the technology-user-relationship: the investigations of the usability by the users and usability-experts require experiments in the laboratory (e.g. with eye tracking analysis, video surveillance and logfile-registration) and field tests (e.g. physio-logging and GPS-tracking) in order to determine task appropriateness, effectiveness, efficiency and user strain (if necessary also by comparison with alternative solutions) and to identify remaining potentials for optimization.
  • Evaluation of the technology-driven social networking: Especially in simulation studies, (see M4) the use of technology in social contact, the confirmation of trust mechanisms and the changes in conditions of realization for fundamental rights and other aims in law are investigated. For the future real users are enabled to experience how they can fulfill their tasks by using the demonstrators. All VENUS-partners are involved in these tasks and the analysis of these experiences, and use them to evaluate the technology developments and design proposals for which they are responsible.

The findings from these evaluations flow directly back into the design work. By testing the demonstrators at the same time, the design methods from MS and the testing methods from M4 are also evaluated. Thus, the findings from the practical projects are also used for the reflection of the theories and methods that should be used in the laboratory.

L3: Evaluation

In Teilprojekt L3 finden Funktions- und Integrationstests, Gebrauchstauglichkeitsuntersuchungen und Simulationsstudien statt. Es werden die in M2 entwickelten Gestaltungsvorschläge in der Weise erprobt, dass deren Realisierungen in den Demonstratoren mit Hilfe der in M4 fortentwickelten Evaluationsmethoden überprüft werden. Maßstab der Evaluierung sind die ebenfalls in M2 erarbeiteten Anforderungen an eine sozialverträgliche Technikgestaltung. Die Evaluationen finden auf drei Ebenen statt:

  • Evaluation der Technik: In Funktions- und Integrationstests der Anwendungsdemonstratoren wird die Erfüllung der funktionalen und nicht-funktionalen Anforderungen überprüft.
  • Evaluation der Technik-Nutzer-Beziehung: Zur Untersuchung der Gebrauchstauglichkeit durch Benutzer und Usability-Experten finden Experimente im Labor (z. B. mit Blickbewegungsanalyse, Videobeobachtung und Logfile-Registrierung) und Praxistests im Feld (z.B. mit Physio-Logging und GPS-Tracking) statt, mit denen Aufgabenangemessenheit, Effektivität und Effizienz sowie Benutzerbeanspruchung (ggf. auch im Vergleich mit Alternativlösungen) festgestellt und verbliebene Optimierungspotentiale identifiziert werden.
  • Evaluation der technikvermittelten sozialen Vernetzung: Vor allem in Simulationsstudien (siehe M4) werden die Techniknutzung im sozialen Kontakt, die Bewährung von Vertrauensmechanismen und die Veränderungen von Verwirklichungsbedingungen für Grundrechte und andere Rechtsziele untersucht. Hierzu werden künftigen echten Nutzern Erfahrungen ermöglicht, wie sie ihre Aufgaben durch Nutzung der Demonstratoren erfüllen können. An der Aufgabenstellung und der Auswertung der Erfahrungen sind alle VENUS-Partner beteiligt und nutzen diese zur Evaluation der von ihnen verantworteten Technikentwicklungen und Gestaltungsvorschläge.

Die Erkenntnisse aus den Evaluationen fließen unmittelbar in die inhaltlichen Gestaltungsarbeiten im Arbeitsbereich 1 zurück. Durch die Erprobungen der Demonstratoren werden zugleich aber auch die in M2 entwickelten Gestaltungsmethoden und die in M4 erarbeiteten Erprobungsmethoden evaluiert. Daher werden die Erkenntnisse aus den Praxisprojekten auch zur Reflexion der Theorie und der Methoden genutzt, die im Rahmen des Labors angewendet werden sollen.