ORCID

What does ORCID mean?

By means of an unambiguous and distinct personal ID, the international ORCID organization links authors with their publications and research data. By using the name of an author alone, establishing such a link is not always possible: different authors may have the same name, names may have different spellings, or they may change, e.g. due to marriage or the use of pseudonyms. The ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) was created to facilitate an unambiguous allocation. The idea behind ORCID is simple: Using an ORCID, whoever has produced an academic contribution can unambiguously link themselves with their publications, research data, as well as other products of the research process (e.g. software).

In the long run, ORCID is meant to become the standard way of author identification for academic publications. A couple of big academic publishing houses have already adopted ORCID as mandatory identification for authors when handing in their scientific manuscripts. Establishing ORCID is organized by the non-profit organization Open Researcher Contributor Identification Initiative. By the end of December 2016, about 3 million academics throughout the world had registered already.

In order to support and make ORCID known in Germany, the German Research Foundation (DFG) funds the three-year project (2016-2018) ORCID DE which aims at “supporting the implementation of ORCID at universities and other research institutions in a sustainable way by means of an overarching approach. Apart from establishing a central contact point for universities and other research institutions, vital parts of the project are linking and disseminating the ORCID in open-access repositories and publishing services (…) as well as interlocking it with the Integrated Authority File (Gemeinsame Normdatei, GND).

Organizational, technical as well as legal matters will be equally focussed on.” In Germany currently about 70,000 academics have registered for an ORCID.

How Do I Get an ORCID?

Register for an account at ORCID. You should make sure that your publication list there is updated regularly.

Once you have registered, please let us know your ORCID. We will then put a link to your ID on your author page at our website. This will take you to an example.

ORCID

Was ist eine ORCID?

Das internationale ORCID-Konsortium verbindet Autor*innen über eine eindeutige Personenkennung mit ihren Aufsätzen und Forschungsdaten. Dies ist allein mit dem Autor*innennamen nicht immer möglich: Verschiedene Autor*innen haben gleiche Namen, Namen haben unterschiedliche Schreibvarianten oder sie ändern sich z. B. aufgrund von Heirat oder durch Nutzung von Pseudonymen. Die ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) soll die eindeutige Zuordnung erleichtern. Die Idee hinter ORCID ist einfach: Wer einen wissenschaftlichen Beitrag leistet, kann sich über die ORCID-Kennung mit seinen Publikationen, Forschungsdaten und anderen Produkten des Forschungsprozesses (zum Beispiel Software) eindeutig vernetzen.

Langfristig soll sich die ORCID zum Standard für die Autorenidentifikation wissenschaftlicher Publikationen entwickeln. Einige große Wissenschaftsverlage haben die ORCID bereits als obligatorische Identifikation für einreichende Autor*innen wissenschaftlicher Manuskripte eingeführt. Die Etablierung wird von der Non-Profit-Organisation Open Researcher Contributor Identification Initiative organisiert. Ende Dezember 2016 hatten sich weltweit bereits ca. 3 Millionen Wissenschaftler*innen registriert.

Um die ORCID in Deutschland zu fördern und bekannt zu machen gibt es das von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft für drei Jahre (2016-2018) geförderte Projekt ORCID DE dessen Ziel es ist, die „Implementierung der ORCID an Hochschulen und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen durch einen übergreifenden Ansatz nachhaltig zu unterstützen. Neben der Schaffung einer zentralen Anlaufstelle für Hochschulen und außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen sind die Vernetzung  und Verbreitung der ORCID im Bereich von Open-Access-Repositorien und -Publikationdiensten (…) sowie die Verzahnung mit der Gemeinsamen Normdatei (GND) wesentliche Aspekte des Projekts. Dabei stehen organisatorische, technische und rechtliche Fragen gleichermaßen im Fokus.“ In Deutschland haben sich zurzeit ca. 70.000 Wissenschaftler*innen für eine ORCID registriert.

Wie komme ich zu einer ORCID?

Legen Sie sich auf ORCID einen Account an. Sie sollten Ihre Publikationsliste dort regelmäßig pflegen und aktuell halten.

Wenn Sie sich registriert haben, teilen Sie uns Ihre ORCID mit, wir verlinken dann auf Ihrer Autorenseite auf unseren Webseiten zu Ihrer ID. Hier ein Beispiel.