Welcome to the Department of Social Work and Social Welfare

The Department of Social Work and Social Welfare, based at the University of Kassel, is rooted in the former Faculty of Social Work and Social Welfare. In 2011, this department merged with the Department of Educational Science, the Department of Psychology, and the Department of Music under the new umbrella of the Faculty of Human Sciences.

The department runs one of the few German university-based programs offering a BA degree in Social Work. In addition, it operates three programs leading to Master’s degrees in ‘Social Work’, ‘Social Pedagogy in Training and Continuing Education’, or ‘Social Law and Social Economy’. Cutting-edge teaching programs, a wide range of research activities, as well as a lively interface with practitioners all contribute to making the department an attractive place for both students and academics. Fifteen full professorships, each representing a distinctive academic profile, cover a broad array of academic expertise in research and teaching.

The department is composed of two Subject Groups, each embracing distinctive specializations and areas of work.

Subject Group 1: Social Educational Theory and the Sociology of Age & Life Stages

Subject Group 2: Social Policy, Law and Sociology