Peace and Con­flict Cul­tu­re Net­work

Initial launch April 6th 14.30 GMT / 15.30 BST / 16.30 CET

 

The launch event will outline the proposed Network and its initial activities, and then open up the discussion for contributions from participants to help shape the themes of the network for the future.

The Peace and Conflict Culture Network will address the complex and contested questions that face post conflict societies, of what should we remember, what should we forget, and, ultimately, why?

The network will seek to facilitate connections with academics and other relevant stakeholders and mobilise arts and social institutions engaged in peace, conflict and cultural discourse in the UK and abroad in selected regions. It will posit a central research question: what is the role of museums and memory sites that deal with memory and conflict, and how can they more effectively promote tolerance, resilience, inter-group and inter-ethnic cooperation? Firstly, it will investigate the role of art and artists in a museum/site of memory context in contributing to peacebuilding processes. Secondly, the network will facilitate discussions around the question of how youth can be engaged actively in peacebuilding through engagement with museums/sites of memory.

The network will especially foreground the contribution from academics and institutions from post conflict societies in particular from the Former Yugoslavia, Rwanda and the Great Lakes region, Lebanon and the Middle East and Colombia and Latin America.

The Peace and Conflict Cultural Network is convened by PARC and funded by the AHRC. The organising team consists of Dr. Paul Lowe, PARC and London College of Communication; Dr. Nela Milic, PARC and London College of Communication; Professor Kenneth Morrison, De Montfort University, and Professor Liliana Gómez, University of Kassel.