SFB Young Re­se­ar­cher

Young Re­se­ar­cher Com­mit­tee

The Young Researcher Committee is a self-organized group of PhD students and forms a separate organizational unit within the Collaborative Research Center with voting rights in the CRC Executive Board. This group of young researchers organizes one retreat with international invited guests and external students in every funding period and has access to central funds. In addition, it can invite guest speakers for the CRC seminar and is involved in the organization of the social part of CRC events.

Members of the Young Researcher Committee

Doris Herberth (contact)
          Representative of the young researcher committee
          PhD student in the Laboratory Astrophysics group of Prof. Giesen, Kassel

Alexander Blech
          PhD student in the group Quantum Dynamics & Control group of Prof. Koch, Berlin

Björn Waßmuth
          PhD student in the group Laboratory Astrophysics group of Prof. Giesen, Kassel

Pascal Stahl
          PhD student in the group Laboratory Astrophysics group of Prof. Giesen, Kassel

Lutz Marder
          PhD student in the Functional thin films & physics with synchrotron radiation group of Prof. Ehresmann, Kassel

Eileen Döring
          Master student in the Laboratory Astrophysics group of Prof. Giesen, Kassel

Daniel Obenchain
          PostDoc in the Molecular Spectroscopy group of Prof. Schnell, Hamburg

Pablo Pinacho
          PostDoc in the Molecular Spectroscopy group of Prof. Schnell, Hamburg

Mira Diekmann
          PhD student in the Theoretical Chemistry group of Prof. Berger, Marburg

Max Hofmann
          PhD student in the Experimental Atomic Physics group of Prof. Dörner, Frankfurt

YR-Ex­ch­an­ge Month

The SFB-1319-ELCH is designed to promote young researchers on all career levels by financing insights into other international research groups in the form of a (one-month) exchange program.

  • If you are interested, please contact the SFB office (SFB-ELCH-mail) or the scientific manager (Tillmann Kalas) directly. 
  • The SFB will cover the costs for travel and accomodation

Pascal Stahl from the SFB-Project-B3 took this chance in the first year of the SFB (2018) and visited the workgroup of Prof. Dr. Melanie Schnell in Hamburg at DESY.

Experience report by Pascal Stahl: 

"As part of the SFB1319 scientific exchange program, I worked for one month in Melanie Schnell's research group (Link, Link) at DESY in Hamburg. I got to know the campus and worked in a new laboratory with new instruments and measurement techniques. For me, one of the most valuable aspects, both scientific and social, was the cooperation with the great people there.  Of course I learned a lot scientifically and gained a lot of helpful experience and knowledge for my own research. But it is not only about collecting scientific knowledge, but also about meeting and getting to know people from all over the world and making new friends. In addition, further collaborations in the constant exchange between the project groups were initiated. Thanks to the support of Melanie's group, I gained many new impressions at DESY and spent a very intensive and instructive time there. Therefore, I can only recommend every young scientist to use this great opportunity to make their own experiences in relation to science as well as to people."

 

Experience report by Alexander Blech: 

"The last three months of 2019 me and my wife spent in Manhattan, Kansas, basically in the middle of the great plains in central US. As part of the scientific exchange program of the CRC I was visiting the group of Loren Greenman at the Kansas State University (Link) to develop skills in quantum chemistry and electron scattering. At the same time my wife was attending courses at KSU in her field of study, which we organised independently.

I never before lived abroad for a larger period of time and only once visited the US. So I did not really know, what to expect. But it was an experience I do not want to miss anymore. Apart from the fact that a visa application needs some processing time, the organisation of the exchange went very smoothly and no problems occurred that could not be solved by a friendly phone call. Once arrived, I quickly became a part of the university community, thanks to the vivid campus life. After putting some effort into getting mobile in the US, I pretty much enjoyed getting to know the country in small trips on the weekends. While living in this new environment and by interacting with people with a different perspective, I learned a lot about the cultural differences and similiarities and built some relationships that still continue.

Besides from my personal expericences, my time at Loren's group was very fruitful for my scientific work. I admit, for a theoretician the working conditions as such do not change that much when visiting other places, since monitors in the US do not really differ from monitors elsewhere. However, it is all about the people around you. Getting in contact with new collegues was very valuable for me. I benefited a lot from the active scientific exchange with the group members and I am happy about the still ongoing collaboration with Loren. Of course it is always challenging to get used to new concepts and methods in a short amount of time, but thanks to the supportive and motivating working conditions, the tools I learned are now a key element for my research in the context of the CRC.

It was an intensive time that was an incredible valuable experience both personally and scientifically and I am very thankful to Christiane, Loren and the CRC for making this exchange possible."

PhD student Doris Herberth

PhD student in the Laboratory Astrophysics group of Prof. Giesen, Kassel

Herberth, Doris

SFB Young Re­se­ar­cher

Young Re­se­ar­cher Com­mit­tee

Das Young Researcher Committee ist eine selbstorganisierte Gruppe von Doktoranden/innen und bildet innerhalb des Sonderforschungsbereichs eine eigene Organisationseinheit mit Stimmrecht im SFB-Vorstand. Diese Nachwuchsgruppe organisiert in jeder Förderperiode einen Retreat mit international geladenen Gästen und externen Studierenden und hat hierfür Zugang zu zentralen Finanzmitteln. Darüber hinaus kann sie Gastredner für das SFB-Seminar einladen und ist an der Organisation des sozialen Teils von SFB-Veranstaltungen beteiligt.

Mitglieder des Young Researcher Committee

Doris Herberth (Kontakt)
          Repräsentantin des Young Researcher Committee
          Doktorandin in der Gruppe Laborastrophysik von Prof. Giesen, Kassel

Alexander Blech
          Doktorand in der Gruppe Quantendynamik & -kontrolle von Prof. Koch, Kassel

Björn Waßmuth
          Doktorand in der Gruppe Laborastrophysik von Prof. Giesen, Kassel

Pascal Stahl
          Doktorand in der Gruppe Laborastrophysik von Prof. Giesen, Kassel

Lutz Marder
          Doktorand in der Gruppe Funktionelle dünne Schichten und Physik mit
          Synchrotron-Strahlung von Prof. Ehresmann, Kassel

Eileen Döring
          Masterstudentin in der Gruppe Laborastrophysik von Prof. Giesen, Kassel

Daniel Obenchain
          PostDoc in der Gruppe Molekülspektroskopie von Prof. Schnell, Hamburg

Pablo Pinacho
          PostDoc in der Gruppe Molekülspektroskopie von Prof. Schnell, Hamburg

Mira Diekmann
          Doktorandin in der Gruppe Theoretische Chemie von Prof. Berger, Marburg

Max Hofmann
          Doktorand in der Gruppe Experimentelle Atomphysik von Prof. Dörner, Frankfurt

YR-Aus­tausch­pro­gramm

Als Nachwuchsförderung finanziert der SFB-1319-ELCH den Nachwuchswissenschaftlern aus allen Karriereebenen Einblicke in andere internationale Forschungsgruppen in Form eines (einmonatigen) Austauschprogramms. 

  • Bei Interesse kontaktieren Sie bitte die SFB-Geschäftstelle (SFB-ELCH-mail) oder den wiss. Geschäftsführer (Tillmann Kalas) direkt. 
  • Der SFB übernimmt die Kosten für Reise und Unterkunft

Pascal Stahl aus dem SFB-Projekt-B3 nahm diese Chance im ersten Jahr des SFBs (2018) wahr und besuchte die Arbeitgruppe von Prof. Dr. Melanie Schnell in Hamburg am DESY. 

Erfahrungsbericht von Pascal Stahl (übersetzt aus dem Englischen): 

Im Rahmen des wissenschaftlichen Austauschprogramms des SFB 1319 ELCH arbeitete ich einen Monat lang in der Forschungsgruppe von Melanie Schnell (Link, Link) beim DESY in Hamburg. Ich lernte den Campus kennen und arbeitete in einem neuen Labor mit neuen Geräten und Messtechniken. Für mich war einer der wertvollsten Aspekte, sowohl wissenschaftlich als auch sozial, die Zusammenarbeit mit den großartigen Menschen dort. Natürlich habe ich wissenschaftlich viel gelernt und viele hilfreiche Erfahrungen und Kenntnisse für meine eigene Forschung gesammelt. Aber es geht nicht nur darum, wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse zu sammeln, sondern auch darum, Menschen aus aller Welt kennenzulernen und neue Freunde zu finden. Darüber hinaus wurden weitere Kooperationen im ständigen Austausch zwischen den Projektgruppen initiiert. Dank der Unterstützung von Melanies Gruppe habe ich viele neue Eindrücke bei DESY gewonnen und dort eine sehr intensive und lehrreiche Zeit verbracht. Deshalb kann ich jede(r|m) jungen WissenschaftlerIn nur empfehlen, diese große Chance zu nutzen, um eigene Erfahrungen sowohl mit der Wissenschaft als auch mit den Menschen zu machen. "

Erfahrungsbericht von Alexander Blech: 

"Die letzten drei Monate des Jahres 2019 verbrachten meine Frau und ich in Manhattan, Kansas - im Grunde mitten in den Great Plains im Zentrum der USA. Im Rahmen des wissenschaftlichen Austauschprogramms des SFB besuchte ich die Gruppe von Loren Greenman an der Kansas State University (LINK), um einen Einblick in Methoden der Quantenchemie und der Elektronenstreuung zu bekommen. Während dieser Zeit besuchte meine Frau Kurse an der KSU in ihrem Studienbereich, was wir unabhängig vom SFB organisiert hatten.

Ich habe noch nie für eine größere Zeitspanne im Ausland gelebt und nur einmal zuvor die USA besucht. Ich wusste also nicht wirklich, was mich erwartet. Aber es war eine Erfahrung, die ich nicht mehr missen möchte. Abgesehen davon, dass ein Visumantrag eine gewisse Bearbeitungszeit benötigt, verlief die Organisation des Austauschs sehr reibungslos und es traten keine Probleme auf, die nicht durch einen freundlichen Anruf gelöst werden konnten. Einmal angekommen, wurde ich dank des lebhaften Campuslebens schnell ein Teil der Universitätsgemeinschaft. Nachdem ich es geschafft hatte, in den USA mobil zu werden, habe ich es ziemlich genossen, das Land in kleinen Ausflügen an den Wochenenden kennenzulernen. Während meiner Zeit in dieser neuen Umgebung und durch den Kontakt mit Menschen, die einen anderen Blickwinkel haben, lernte ich eine Menge über die kulturellen Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten und knüfpte einige neue Bekanntschaften, die noch immer andauern.

Abgesehen von meinen persönlichen Erfahrungen war meine Zeit in Lorens Gruppe sehr fruchtbar für meine wissenschaftliche Arbeit. Zugegeben, für einen Theoretiker ändern sich die Arbeitsbedingungen nicht so sehr, wenn man andere Orte besucht, da sich Bildschirme in den USA nicht wirklich von Bildschirmen anderswo unterscheiden. Viel wichtiger sind hingegen die Menschen, mit denen man arbeitet. Der Kontakt mit neuen Kollegen war für mich sehr wertvoll. Ich habe sehr von dem regen wissenschaftlichen Austausch mit den Gruppenmitgliedern profitiert und freue mich über die fortbestende Zusammenarbeit mit Loren. Natürlich ist es immer eine Herausforderung, sich in kurzer Zeit mit neuen Konzepten und Methoden vertraut zu machen, aber dank des hilfsbereiten und motivierenden Arbeitsumfeldes sind die Werkzeuge, die ich dort kennen gelernt habe, nun ein wichtiger Bestandteil meiner Forschung im Rahmen des SFB.

Es war eine intensive Zeit, die für mich sowohl persönlich als auch wissenschaftlich eine unglaublich wertvolle Erfahrung war, und ich bin Christiane, Loren und dem SFB sehr dankbar, dass sie diesen Austausch ermöglicht haben."