Ac­cess­ib­il­ity

The Campus Library and the libraries located at Brüder-Grimm-Platz, Oberzwehren and Witzenhausen are accessible to the handicapped and the impaired. Inside the Campus Library every floor can be reached by elevator. Visually impaired students can rely on orientation via a tactile guiding system. This location also provides a work station with dedicated equipment for their requirements.

Regarding the accessibility of online ressources the regulations of the University of Kassel apply. 

In the campus library at Holländischer Platz there is a workroom for the visually impaired where a screen reader and an appropriately equipped computer workstation are available. After registration and instruction, the room can be used during our opening hours.

The computer has a voice output via loudspeaker as well as an enlarged and high-contrast display of the image. It is possible to save your personal settings and data at this workplace.

You need your campus card to use the printing and copying stations.

Registration and instruction for the workplace: lfs[at]bibliothek.uni-kassel[dot]de

The literature conversion service of the Kassel University Library supports blind and visually impaired students in obtaining study-related literature in a form suitable for them. This includes monographs, in whole or in part, as well as articles from specialist journals in the university library.

So-called “individual implementations” are made in accordance with Section 45a of the Copyright Act. Our service includes digitization and barrier-free implementation in Word format. The implementation is limited to text templates.

We would be happy to support you with your literature research. The implementation orders are very time-consuming and are processed according to the date of receipt. We therefore recommend that you contact us as early as possible.

Contact:

Phone: +49 0561 804-7292 | Email: literatur-barrierefrei[at]uni-kassel[dot]de

At the start of the winter semester the university library also offers a library introduction for students with physical restrictions.

Contents: searching for literature in the KARLA catalog portal, finding the media you need on the shelf, self-service devices for lending and returning, advice at the service counter, etc.

Registration is not required. Need for assistance can be requested by email: info[at]bibliothek.uni-kassel[dot]de. For the exact dates, please refer to our event overview.

The central point of contact at the university is the Student and Disability Service Office. Lecturers should contact this office if they have any questions about converting teaching material into accessible documents, such as PowerPoint slides.

Bar­rie­re­frei­heit

Die Campusbibliothek sowie die Bibliotheken der Standorte Brüder-Grimm-Platz, Oberzwehren und Witzenhausen haben barrierefreie Zugänge. In der Campusbibliothek sind sämtliche Ebenen über Aufzüge zu erreichen. Sehgeschädigte Studierende erhalten über ein taktiles Leitsystem Orientierung im Gebäude. Dort steht außerdem ein speziell ausgestatteter Arbeitsplatz zur Verfügung.

In Sachen Barrierefreiheit im Web gelten die Regelungen der Universität Kassel.

In der Campusbibliothek am Holländischen Platz gibt es einen Arbeitsraum für Sehgeschädigte, in dem ein Bildschirmlesegerät und ein entsprechend ausgestatteter Computer-Arbeitsplatz zur Verfügung stehen. Nach Registrierung und Einweisung kann der Raum während unserer Öffnungszeiten genutzt werden.

Der Computer verfügt über eine Sprachausgabe per Lautsprecher sowie eine vergrößerte und kontraststarke Darstellung des Bildes. Die Speicherung Ihrer persönlichen Einstellungen und Daten an diesem Arbeitsplatz ist möglich.

Um unsere Druck- und Kopierstationen nutzen zu können, benötigen Sie Ihre Campuscard mit freigeschalteter Bibliotheksausweisfunktion.

Regis­trie­rung und Ein­wei­sung für den Ar­beits­platz: E-Mail-Kontakt

Der Literatur-Umsetzungdienst der Universitätsbibliothek Kassel unterstützt blinde und sehbehinderte Studierende dabei, studienrelevante Literatur in für sie geeigneter Form zu erhalten. Dies umfasst Monographien, ganz oder in Teilen, ebenso wie Artikel aus Fachzeitschriften der Universitätsbibliothek.

Es werden sogenannte „Einzelumsetzungen“ nach § 45a Urheberrechtsgesetz angefertigt. Unser Service umfasst die Digitalisierung und barrierearme Umsetzung in das Word-Format. Die Umsetzung beschränkt sich auf Text-Vorlagen. 

Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der Literaturrecherche. Die Umsetzungsaufträge sind sehr zeitintensiv und werden nach Eingangsdatum bearbeitet. Deshalb empfehlen wir Ihnen eine möglichst frühzeitige Kontaktaufnahme.

Kontakt:

Tel.: +49 0561 804-7115 | E-Mail: literatur-barrierefrei[at]uni-kassel[dot]de

Regelmäßig zum Start des Wintersemesters bietet die Universitätsbibliothek auch eine Bibliothekseinführung für Studierende mit gesundheitlichen Einschränkungen an.

Inhalte: Literatursuche im Katalogportal KARLA, benötigte Medien im Regal finden, Selbstbedienungsgeräte für Ausleihe und Rückgabe, Beratung an der Servicetheke etc.

Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich. Assistenzbedarf kann per Mail angefordert werden: info[at]bibliothek.uni-kassel[dot]de Die genauen Termine entnehmen Sie bitte unser Veranstaltungsübersicht.

Zentraler Ansprechpartner an der Universität ist die Servicestelle Studium und Behinderung. Lehrende wenden sich bei Fragen zur Umsetzung von Lehrmaterial in barrierefreie Dokumente, wie z.B. PowerPoint-Folien, bitte an diese Stelle.