Biology (Master)

This page contains automatically translated content.

Image: Paavo Blafield

For advanced students, specialization is now the order of the day: Those who have passed the bachelor's examination in biology or a subject equivalent to biology open the door to the subsequent master's program. Here, students at the University of Kassel have the opportunity to deepen their studies scientifically in an individualized way.

It is therefore necessary to choose one of three scientific specializations: Molecular Biology of the Cell, Biodiversity and Evolutionary Biology, or Environmental and Agricultural Biology. By having the opportunity to acquire individual key competencies in more in-depth research at a top international level, students create a distinctive and therefore sought-after professional profile. Unlike the Bachelor's program, there are no admission restrictions in the Master's program in Biology, which ends with the award of the Master of Science (M.Sc.) degree. Admission requirements are a passed bachelor's degree in biology or a subject equivalent. The standard period of study for the Master's program, including the Master's thesis and Master's colloquium, is four semesters. The Master's program at the University of Kassel begins in the summer or winter semester.

The course language is German, but proof of sufficient knowledge of English at the B2 level must be provided. This is necessary for dealing with specialist literature and with a view to later professional activity. After successful completion of the course, interesting career options await students in a wide range of sectors and industries: In the pharmaceutical and food industry, with authorities, in zoological or botanical gardens, in natural history museums, in the field of environmental assessment, in monitoring clinical studies or in scientific research. Many graduates use the M.Sc. in Biology as the basis for a possible doctorate and thus as a perfect springboard for a scientific career.


At a glance

Degree: Master of Science


Start: Summer semester and winter semester


Duration/Scope: 4 semesters


Language of instruction: German


Admission restriction (NC): No

Feature

Master colloquium

Admission requirements

  • Passed Bachelor's examination in biology or subject equivalentProof
  • of
  • a standard period of study of at least six semestersProof
  • of
  • 180 credits
  • Knowledge of the English language at level B2 of the (CEFR)


Application and enrollment procedure for the winter semester

Application with German certificates

Application Deadline:

annually 01.06. - 01.09.

You apply for this degree program via our online application portal "eCampus".

How do I apply for this study program?

Application with foreign certificates

Application deadline

with foreign certificates:
annually 01.03. - 15.07.

If you are not yet studying at the University of Kassel or another university in Germany, but have obtained a first professional Bachelor's degree abroad, you must apply via the central assessment office in Berlin, uni-assist.

How do I apply with a foreign certificate?


Application and enrollment procedure for the summer semester

Application with German certificates

Application deadline

annually 01.12. - 01.03.

You apply for this degree program via our online application portal "eCampus".

How do I apply for this study program?

Application with foreign certificates

Application deadline

with foreign certificates:
annually 01.09. - 15.01.

If you are not yet studying at the University of Kassel or another university in Germany, but have obtained a first professional Bachelor's degree abroad, you must apply via the central assessment office in Berlin, uni-assist.

How do I apply with a foreign certificate?


Information and advice

Enquiries

For any general admission questions, please contact our information desk.

Enquiries: Contact details

General study counseling

Subject-specific study counseling


Feedback on these study program pages

Go link of this page: www.uni-kassel.de/go/m_biologie/

Bio­lo­gie (Master)

Bild: Paavo Blafield

Für Fortgeschrittene ist nun Spezialisierung angesagt: Wer eine bestandene Bachelor-Prüfung in Biologie oder einem fachlich gleichwertigen Studiengang vorweisen kann, dem öffnen sich Tür und Tor für den anschließenden Master-Studiengang. Hier haben Studierende an der Universität Kassel die Chance, ihr Studium in individueller Gestaltung wissenschaftlich zu vertiefen.

Es gilt daher, sich für einen von drei wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkten zu entscheiden: Molekularbiologie der Zelle, Biodiversität und Evolutionsbiologie oder Umwelt- und Agrarbiologie. Durch die Möglichkeit, in tiefer reichenden Forschungen auf internationalem Spitzenniveau individuelle Schlüsselkompetenzen zu erwerben, schaffen sich Studierende ein unverwechselbares und daher gefragtes Berufsprofil. Anders als im Bachelor-Studiengang gibt es im Master-Studiengang Biologie, das mit dem Erwerb des Master of Science (M.Sc.) endet, keine Zulassungsbeschränkungen. Zulassungsvoraussetzung ist eine bestandene Bachelorprüfung in Biologie oder eines fachlich gleichwertigen Studiengangs. Die Regelstudienzeit für das Masterstudium beträgt einschließlich Masterarbeit und Masterkolloquium vier Semester. Studienbeginn für das Masterprogramm an der Universität Kassel ist jeweils zum Sommer- oder Wintersemester.

Die Veranstaltungssprache ist deutsch, allerdings muss der Nachweis ausreichender Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache auf dem Niveau B2 erfolgen. Das ist erforderlich für den Umgang mit Fachliteratur und im Hinblick auf die spätere Berufstätigkeit. Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss locken interessante Berufsoptionen in ganz unterschiedlichen Sparten und Branchen: In der Pharma- und Lebensmittelindustrie, bei Behörden, in zoologischen oder botanischen Gärten, in Naturkundemuseen, im Bereich Umweltgutachten, beim Monitoring klinischer Studien oder in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung. Viele Absolventinnen und Absolventen nutzen den M.Sc. in Biologie als Grundlage einer möglichen Promotion und damit als perfektes Sprungbrett für eine wissenschaftliche Karriere.


Auf ei­nen Blick

Abschluss: Master of Science


Studienbeginn: Sommersemester und Wintersemester


Dauer/Umfang: 4 Semester


Unterrichtssprache: Deutsch


Zulassungsbeschränkung (NC): Nein

Be­son­der­heit

Masterkolloquium

Zu­las­sungs­vor­aus­set­zun­gen

  • Bestandene Bachelor-Prüfung in Biologie oder fachlich gleichwertig
  • Nachweis einer Regelstudienzeit von mindestens sechs Semestern
  • Nachweis von 180 Credits
  • Kenntnisse der englischen Sprache auf dem Niveau B2 des (GER)


Be­wer­bungs- und Ein­schreib­ver­fah­ren Winter­semester 2021/22

Be­wer­bung mit deu­t­­schen Zeu­g­­nis­­sen

Be­wer­bungs­­­frist

01.05.2021 - 01.09.2021

Für diesen Studiengang bewerben Sie sich über das Online-Bewerbungsportal für Masterstudiengänge der Universität Kassel.

Wie bewerbe ich mich für diesen Studiengang?

Be­wer­bung mit aus­­­län­­­di­­­schen Zeu­g­­­nis­­­sen

Be­wer­bungs­­­frist

mit ausländischen Zeugnissen:
01.05.2021 - 15.07.2021

Sollten Sie noch nicht an der Universität Kassel oder einer anderen Hochschule in Deutschland studieren, aber einen ersten berufsqualifzierenden Bachelor-Abschluss im Ausland erworben haben, müssen Sie sich über die zentrale Bewertungsstelle in Berlin, uni-assist, bewerben.

Wie bewerbe ich mich mit einem ausländischen Zeugnis?


Be­wer­bungs- und Ein­schreib­ver­fah­ren Sommer­semester 2021

Be­wer­bung mit deu­t­­schen Zeu­g­­nis­­sen

Be­wer­bungs­­­frist

15.12.2020 - 01.03.2021

Für diesen Studiengang bewerben Sie sich über das Online-Bewerbungsportal für Masterstudiengänge der Universität Kassel.

Wie bewerbe ich mich für diesen Studiengang?

Be­wer­bung mit aus­­­län­­­di­­­schen Zeu­g­­­nis­­­sen

Be­wer­bungs­frist

15.12.2020 - 15.01.2021

Sollten Sie noch nicht an der Universität Kassel oder einer anderen Hochschule in Deutschland studieren, aber einen ersten berufsqualifzierenden Bachelor-Abschluss im Ausland erworben haben, müssen Sie sich über die zentrale Bewertungsstelle in Berlin, uni-assist, bewerben.

Wie bewerbe ich mich mit einem ausländischen Zeugnis?


Information und Be­ra­tung

Information Studium - In­fo­the­ke und Ser­vice­te­le­fon

All­ge­mei­ne Studien­beratung

Fach­spe­zi­fi­sche Studien­beratung


Feedback zu diesen Webseiten

Go-Link dieser Seite: www.uni-kassel.de/go/m_biologie/