The solar boats

The content on this page was translated automatically.

What to do?

Several teams are formed within a school class. Each team consists of 2-4 students. Each team builds one boat and creates 2 posters. How many teams from a class may participate in the competition is decided by the competition management 2-3 weeks before the competition, depending on how many registrations there are in total. Each class will then be assigned a corresponding number of starting numbers. A preliminary competition within the class will decide which teams will receive a start number and participate in the Hessen SolarCup. Of course, the whole class should come to Königsplatz to cheer.

All boats must use propulsion parts, which are available in different designs. These are available as kits and include: 1 solar motor, 1 propeller or 1 water propeller, 1 solar panel, 1 motor mount. Starting in 2022, the boats will be equipped with a water screw propeller.
The hull of the solar boats will be designed and built by the students according to their own designs and experiments. The only condition: The footprint of the boats must not exceed the outer dimensions of an A4 sheet of paper. The starting number must be attached to the right and left of each boat (at least 3x3 cm). For the race it is important that the boats can go as straight as possible.

The Wasserlebnishaus conducts workshops on building solar boats for whole classes.(flyer)

You can find more information in our regulations.

Die So­lar-Boo­te

Was ist zu tun?

Innerhalb einer Schulklasse werden mehrere Teams gebildet. Jedes Team besteht aus 2-4 Schülerinnen und Schülern. Jedes Team baut jeweils ein Boot und erstellt 2 Poster. Wie viele Teams aus einer Klasse am Wettbewerb teilnehmen dürfen, entscheidet die Wettbewerbsleitung 2-3 Wochen vor dem Wettbewerb, je nachdem wie viele Anmeldungen es insgesamt gibt. Jede Klasse bekommt dann eine entsprechende Anzahl Startnummern zugeteilt. Mit einem Vorausscheidungs-wettbewerb innerhalb der Klasse soll entschieden werden, welche Teams eine Startnummer erhalten und am Hessen SolarCup teilnehmen. Natürlich sollte die ganze Klasse zum Anfeuern mit auf den Königsplatz kommen.

Alle Boote müssen Antriebsteile die es in zwei unterschiedlichen Ausführungen gibt verwenden. Diese sind als Bausätze erhältlich und enthalten: 1 Solarmotor, 1 Luftschraube oder 1 Wasserschraube, 1 Solarmodul, 1 Motorhalterung.
Der Rumpf der Solarboote wird durch die Schülerinnen und Schüler nach eigenen Entwürfen und Versuchen konstruiert und gebaut. Einzige Bedingung: Die Grundfläche der Boote darf die äußeren Abmessungen eines DIN A4-Blattes nicht überschreiten. An jedem Boot muss rechts und links die Startnummer angebracht werden (mindestens 3x3 cm). Für das Wettrennen ist wichtig, dass die Boote möglichst gut geradeaus fahren können.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserem Reglement.