A warm wel­co­me

The In­sti­tu­te of Ma­nage­ment and Busi­ness Stu­dies (IBWL) has set itself the teaching goal of providing excellent business administration training by means of attractive degree courses and cooperation arrangements with universities abroad in order to give students well-founded qualifications for future tasks in positions of responsibility. 

To achieve this goal, we have introduced a master’s degree course in business administration with three optional fields of specialisation – “Finance, Accounting, Controlling, Taxation” (FACT), “Management and Marketing” (MuM) and “Digital Business” (DiB). The range of basic master’s degree courses is rounded off by the “European Master’s in Business Studies” and “Sustainable Business” degrees (in cooperation with the Institute of Economics). The IBWL also offers ongoing specialist training courses such as an Executive MBA in Marketing/Dialogue Marketing, an MBA in General Management (under the umbrella of UNIKIMS) and a master’s degree in Public Management (MPA).

The strength and diversity of research into business sustainability at the University of Kassel, which is one of the leading centres for this in Germany, is also reflected in the range of courses available. The topic areas­ of digital transformation and sustainability exemplify the IBWL's unwavering goal of acquiring an excellent reputation as an educational institution through research-oriented teaching.

The teaching goals go hand-in-hand with our intention of pursuing internationally respected, interdisciplinary research in current subject areas in business administration. In particular, we publish articles in internationally renowned journals and maintain a strong presence at international­ conferences. Providing deliberate support for young academics is one of the Institute’s top priorities.

Herz­lich will­kom­men

Das Institut für Betriebswirtschaftslehre (IBWL) hat sich in der Lehre zum Ziel gesetzt, durch attraktive Studienangebote und Kooperationen mit ausländischen Universitäten eine exzellente betriebswirtschaftliche Ausbildung zu etablieren, um Studierende fundiert für zukünftige Aufgaben in verantwortungsvollen Positionen zu qualifizieren.  

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, wurde u.a. ein betriebswirtschaftlicher Masterstudiengang mit drei Spezialisierungsmöglichkeiten eingeführt – „Finance, Accounting, Controlling, Taxation“ (FACT), „Management und Marketing“ (MuM) sowie „Digital Business“ (DiB). Abgerundet wird das Angebot an grundständigen Masterstudiengängen mit den Studiengängen „European Master in Business Studies“ und „Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften“ (in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für VWL).  Ferner werden vom IBWL spezialisierte Weiterbildungsstudiengänge, wie ein MBA-Studiengang General Management (unter dem Dach der UNIKIMS) und ein Masterstudiengang zum Public Management (MPA) angeboten.

Zudem spiegeln sich die Stärke und Diversität der betriebswirtschaftlichen Nachhaltigkeitsforschung an der Universität Kassel, die deutschlandweit führend ist, im Lehrangebot wider. Die Themen­bereiche Digitale Transformation und Nachhaltigkeit stehen exemplarisch für die stete Absicht des IBWL, mit forschungsorientierter Lehre einen ausgezeichneten Ruf als Bildungsinstitution zu erwerben.

Die Ziele in der Lehre gehen einher mit dem Ziel einer international angesehenen, interdisziplinären Forschung in aktuellen Themengebieten der Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Dabei werden insbesondere Publikationen in international renommierten Fachzeitschriften und eine hohe Präsenz auf inter­nationalen Tagungen verfolgt. Ein besonderes Anliegen des Instituts ist die gezielte Förderung von Nachwuchswissenschaftler:innen.