Integrative Biophilosophy – Epistemology of the Life Sciences

Forms of Practice, Forms of Knowledge – Method, Notation and the Dynamics of Perspectives in the Life Sciences

PI: Robert Meunier

Research Fellow: tba

News: open position, research assistant

The project is funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).
For further information click here.  

Scientific practice has become a central theme in science studies. This project aims at a new model of scientific research processes that combines cognitive, semiotic and social aspects of scientific practice. The model will be used to analyse various research programmes in the life sciences and to describe the commonalities and differences between them. In this way it explicates the notion of a plurality of perspectives on biological phenomena. Furthermore, it enables explanations of dynamic relations - such as diversification, controversy, collaboration or integration - between research programmes.

The model will specify the role of project knowledge in scientific practice—that is, knowledge about how to design and carry out a research project, i.e. about how to gain empirical knowledge. There are four kinds of project knowledge, which can be addressed in terms of cognitive schemata: 1) knowledge about possible goals of research project, i.e. about forms knowledge can take (goal schemata); 2) knowledge about how to generate knowledge of a given form (methodological schemata); 3) knowledge about how to organise such work in terms of the material infrastructure, social rules and institutions (organisational schemata); 4) knowledge about notational formats that are available to represent knowledge of a given form (notational schemata). Knowledge schemata 2) - 4) can be addressed as implementation knowledge. The model also maps the relation of epistemic knowledge to three kinds of activities involved in knowledge generation (epistemic practice): 1) research activities (e.g. observation, experimentation, modelling); 2) activities of establishing and navigating infrastructures and institutions; 3) activities of crafting representations of facts. Such activities result in constellations of people, organisms, research materials and a variety of artefacts, in and through which scientific facts become delineated and represented. In the framework of the model an integrated account of the role of action and representation in generating knowledge, i.e. scientific facts and the concepts that describe them.

This account differs from other accounts of practice in science that emphasize diversity and focus on specific aspects of research processes. It advances the field by complementing the specialization in philosophy of science in practice entailed by such focus with an integrative view. The goal is not to revive the idea of unity in science, but, to the contrary, to identify several shared dimensions (in terms of project knowledge and epistemic practice) along which research programmes differ. This enables a comparison of research programmes and the analysis of dynamic relations between them.

One strand of the proposed project is dedicated to developing the model in detail. A second research strand consists of detailed case studies from developmental biology, evolutionary biology and ecology in the long 20th century. While the case studies provide empirical input and a testing ground for developing the model, they also constitute important fields of investigation that will benefit from the analytic framework provided by the model.


Project-relevant Publications

  • Gross, F., Kranke, N., & Meunier, R. (forthc.) Pluralization through Epistemic Competition: Scientific Change in Times of Data-Intensive Biology. History and Philosophy of the Life Sciences.
  • Meunier, R. (in press). Project knowledge and its resituation in the design of research projects: Seymour Benzer’s behavioral genetics, 1965-1974. Studies in History and Philosophy of Science. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.shpsa.2018.04.001

For an updated and complete list of publictaions, see:
http://uni-kassel.academia.edu/RobertMeunier


Project Conferences

Representing scientific results: Forms of knowledge, 18.-19. November, 2016, Universität Kassel (Organisation: Nina Kranke & Robert Meunier), see: http://www.academia.edu/30857953/Representing_scientific_results_Forms_of_knowledge

Integrative Biophilosophie - Epistemologie der Biowissenschaften

Formen der Praxis, Formen des Wissens – Methode, Notation und die Dynamik der Perspektiven in den Lebenswissenschaften

Leitung und Durchführung: Robert Meunier

Mitarbeiter*in Teilprojekt: tba

Das Projekt wird gefördert durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) http://gepris.dfg.de/gepris/projekt/362545428

Wissenschaftliche Praxis hat sich als zentrales Thema der Wissenschaftsforschung etabliert. Ziel des Projektes ist es, ein neues Modell wissenschaftlicher Forschungsprozesse zu entwickeln, das kognitive, semiotische und soziale Aspekte wissenschaftlicher Praxis verbindet. Dieses Modell dient dann dazu, Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede zwischen Forschungsprogrammen in den Lebenswissenschaften herauszuarbeiten. Auf diese Weise lässt sich die Pluralität der Perspektiven auf biologische Phänomene beschreiben. Zudem ermöglicht das Modell die dynamischen Verhältnisse zwischen Forschungsprogrammen – etwa Diversifizierung, Kontroversen, Kollaboration oder Integration – zu erklären.

Das Modell soll die Rolle von Projektwissen in der wissenschaftlichen Praxis erläutern, also von Wissen darüber, wie ein Forschungsprojekt geplant und durchgeführt werden kann, also darüber, wie empirisches Wissen zu erlangen ist. Es gibt vier Arten von Projektwissen: Wissen über die möglichen Ziel eines Forschungsprojektes, also über Formen, die Wissen annehmen kann (Zielschemata); 2) Wissen darüber, wie man Wissen einer bestimmten Form erzeugt (methodologische Schemata); 3) Wissen darüber, wie man die erforderliche Arbeit durch materielle Infrastrukturen, soziale Regeln und Institutionen organisiert (Organisationsschemata); 4) Wissen über Notationsformate, die zur Verfügung stehen, um Wissen bestimmter Form zu repräsentieren (Notationsschemata). Die Wissensschemata 2) -4) können als Implementierungswissen angesprochen werden. Das Modell zeigt, wie epistemisches Wissen drei Arten von Aktivitäten anleitet, die in der Wissenserzeugung eine Rolle spielen (epistemische Praxis): 1) Forschungsaktivitäten (Beobachtung, Experiment); 2) Aktivitäten der Etablierung von Infrastrukturen und Institutionen; 3) Aktivitäten der Erstellung von Repräsentationen. Diese Aktivitäten bringen Konstellationen von Menschen, Organismen Forschungsmaterialien und verschiedener Artefakte hervor, in denen und durch die wissenschaftliche Tatsachen hervorgehoben und repräsentiert sind. Im Rahmen des Modells soll eine integrative Theorie der Rolle von Handlungen und Repräsentationen in der Genese von Wissen, d.h. wissenschaftlicher Fakten und der Begriffe, die sie beschreiben, entwickelt werden.

Dieser Ansatz unterscheidet sich von anderen, welche die Diversität wissenschaftlicher Praxis betonen und sich auf bestimmte Teilaspekte konzentrieren. Das Projekt leistet einen Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung des Feldes, indem es die durch eine solche Fokussierung hervorgerufene Spezialisierung in der Philosophie der wissenschaftlichen Praxis durch eine integrative Sichtweise komplementiert. Es geht nicht darum, den Gedanken einer Einheitswissenschaft wiederzubeleben, sondern, im Gegenteil, darum gemeinsame Dimensionen von Forschungsprogrammen zu identifizieren (im Sinne von Projektwissen und epistemischer Praxis), entlang derer sie sich unterscheiden. Dies macht sie vergleichbar und erlaubt es die dynamischen Verhältnisse zwischen ihnen zu analysieren.

Ein Strang des Projekts widmet sich der Entwicklung des Modells. Ein zweiter Forschungsstrang besteht aus Fallstudien aus der Entwicklungsbiologie, der Evolutionsbiologie und Ökologie im langen 20. Jahrhundert. Während die Fallstudien die empirische Grundlage für die Entwicklung des Modells bilden, richten sie sich auch auf besonders relevante Entwicklungen in den Lebenswissenschaften, deren Untersuchung von dem Modell profitiert.


Projektrelevante Publikationen

  •  Gross, F., Kranke, N., & Meunier, R. (forthc.) Pluralization through Epistemic Competition: Scientific Change in Times of Data-Intensive Biology. History and Philosophy of the Life Sciences.
  • Meunier, R. (in press). Project knowledge and its resituation in the design of research projects: Seymour Benzer’s behavioral genetics, 1965-1974. Studies in History and Philosophy of Science. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.shpsa.2018.04.001

Für eine vollständige und aktualisierte Liste der Publikationen, siehe:
http://uni-kassel.academia.edu/RobertMeunier


Tagungen im Rahmen des Projekts

Representing scientific results: Forms of knowledge, 18.-19. November, 2016, Universität Kassel (Organisation: Nina Kranke & Robert Meunier), see: http://www.academia.edu/30857953/Representing_scientific_results_Forms_of_knowledge