Linked Data Based Crime Analysis (LiDaKrA).

The content on this page was translated automatically.

Actors of "classic" organized crime are increasingly using the Internet to plan and carry out criminal acts. A central problem in the detection of these crimes is the time-consuming and personnel-intensive research work. In most cases, the results have to be reconciled manually, as data is available in different contexts and formats. If there is a well-founded suspicion of a crime, automated evaluation of this data can facilitate the work of the investigating authorities.

Goals and innovations
In LiDaKrA, a software system is to be created that performs the search work in a partially automated manner. With this system, various data sources can be searched in a moment of suspicion and the results transferred into a uniform data format. The search results are meaningfully networked and related to facts of organized crime. Furthermore, research is conducted to determine whether criminal acts on the Internet are conspicuous by special patterns and procedures. Since different software systems are in use throughout Germany, the innovation consists of a central platform that can be used as "software as a service" by all security authorities.

Task of the University of Kassel
Particular attention is paid to the area of conflict between the protection of personal rights and the automated evaluation of data. In LiDaKrA, data is to be collected only on an ad hoc basis and for the purpose of law enforcement.... Thus, data is not to be collected continuously, but only queried and compiled from public sources when a crime is suspected. Permanent storage does not take place. The task of the University of Kassel is to ensure compliance with legal requirements, in particular from data protection law and police law, already during the development of this analysis tool. In addition, ethical and legal questions raised by the development and use of this data analysis tool by police and security authorities are to be answered. The legal support from the beginning of the development enables the LiDaKrA software system to be designed in a way that is as legally and constitutionally compatible as possible. In this way, the protection of the fundamental rights of those affected and the self-regulation of the police and security authorities can be promoted.

The research program is funded on the basis of the Federal Government's program "Research for Civil Security" within the framework of the BMBF announcement "Civil Security - Protection against Organized Crime".

Project partner

Association of German Criminal Police Officers (BDK) (network coordinator):
Ronald Schulze

Brox IT Solutions GmbH:
Hans-Christian Brockmann

Fraunhofer Institute for Intelligent Analysis and Information Systems (IAIS):
Dr. Christoph Lange-Bever

Federal Criminal Police Office (BKA): 
Criminalistics Institute 23
Special Information and Internet Technology
Axel Wieczorek

Ontos GmbH (Ontos):
Dr. Martin Voigt

Project info

Funding:
Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

Duration:
August 2015 - February 2018

Project leader:
Prof. Dr. Alexander Roßnagel
Dr. Christian Gemin

Contact person:
Paul C. Johannes

Project history

Lin­ked-Da­ta-ba­sier­te Kri­mi­nal­ana­ly­se (Li­Da­KrA)

Akteure der „klassischen“ organisierten Kriminalität nutzen zunehmend das Internet zur Planung und Durchführung von Straftaten. Ein zentrales Problem bei der Aufdeckung dieser Straftaten sind die personal-und zeitintensiven Recherchearbeiten. Meist müssen die Ergebnisse manuell abgeglichen werden, da Daten in unterschiedlichen Zusammenhängen und Formaten vorliegen. Bei einem begründeten Verdacht auf eine Straftat kann eine automatisierte Auswertung dieser Daten die Arbeit der ermittelnden Behörden erleichtern.

Ziele und Innovationen
In LiDaKrA soll ein Softwaresystem geschaffen werden, welches die Recherchearbeiten teilautomatisiert durchführt. Mit diesem System können in einem Verdachtsmoment verschiedene Datenquellen durchsucht und die Ergebnisse in ein einheitliches Datenformat überführt werden. Die Rechercheergebnisse werden sinnvoll vernetzt und mit Tatbeständen der organisierten Kriminalität in Zusammenhang gebracht. Weiterhin wird erforscht, ob kriminelle Handlungen im Internet durch spezielle Muster und Vorgehensweisen auffallen. Da bundesweit unterschiedliche Softwaresysteme im Einsatz sind, besteht die Innovation in einer zentralen Plattform, die als „Software as a Service“ von allen Sicherheitsbehörden zum Einsatz gebracht werden kann.

Aufgabe der Universität Kassel
Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf das Spannungsfeld zwischen der Wahrung der Persönlichkeitsrechte und der automatisierten Auswertung von Daten gelegt. In LiDaKrA sollen Daten nur anlassbezogen und zum Zwecke der Strafverfolgung erhoben werden.. So sollen Daten nicht kontinuierlich gesammelt, sondern nur bei einem Verdacht auf eine Straftat aus öffentlichen Quellen abgefragt und zusammengeführt. Eine dauerhafte Speicherung findet nicht statt. Die Aufgabe der Universität Kassel besteht darin, schon bei der Entwicklung dieses Analysewerkzeugs auf die Einhaltung rechtlicher Vorgaben, insbesondere aus dem Datenschutzrecht und Polizeirecht, zu achten. Darüber hinaus soll ethische und rechtliche Fragen, die die Entwicklung und der Einsatz diese Datenanalysewerkzeugs bei Polizei- und Sicherheitsbehörden aufwerfen, beantwortet werden. Die juristische Begleitung von Beginn der Entwicklung an, ermöglicht es das LiDaKrA-Softwaresystem möglichst rechts- und verfassungsverträglich zu gestalten. So kann der Schutz der Grundrechte Betroffener und die Selbstkontrolle der Polizei- und Sicherheitsbehörden gefördert werden.

Das Forschungsprogramm wird auf Basis des Programms „Forschung für die zivile Sicherheit“ der Bundesregierung im Rahmen der BMBF-Bekanntmachung „Zivile Sicherheit – Schutz vor organisierter Kriminalität“ gefördert.

Projektpartner

Bund deutscher Kriminalbeamter (BDK) (Verbundkoordinator):
Ronald Schulze

Brox IT Solutions GmbH:
Hans-Christian Brockmann

Fraunhofer-Institut für Intelligente Analyse und Informationssysteme (IAIS):
Dr. Christoph Lange-Bever

Bundeskriminalamt (BKA): 
Kriminalistisches Institut 23
Spezielle Informations- und Internettechnologie
Axel Wieczorek

Ontos GmbH (Ontos):
Dr. Martin Voigt

 

 

Pro­jek­t­in­fos

Förderung:
Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Laufzeit:
August 2015 - Februar 2018

Projektverantwortlicher:
Prof. Dr. Alexander Roßnagel
Dr. Christian Gemin

Ansprechpartner:
Paul C. Johannes

Pro­jekt­ver­lauf