University Ethics Committee

The University of Kassel considers research for the acquisition of new scientific knowledge and the further development of the sciences to be one of its central missions. Indispensable for this is the constitutionally protected freedom of research, but at the same time also the respect for ethical responsibility in conducting research.

In order to support researchers in dealing with these issues, the University of Kassel has established a University Ethics Committee, which, upon request, reviews research projects from an ethical standpoint and evaluates research risks relevant to safety.

Current deadline

Please submit your application by 13 June 2024 by e-mail to the office.

University Ethics Committee meetings (FB 02, 06-16, CHD): 
Thu, 17 July 2024
Thu, 31 October 2024
Thu, 30 January 2025

Please note the following deadlines: Applications must be sent by email to the University Ethics Committee office at least 4 weeks in advance of the University Ethics Committee meeting.

Information on other ethics committees at the University of Kassel

Additional ethics committees exist in the Faculties 01 Human Sciences and 05 Social Sciences. Researchers in these faculties are requested to contact the respective contact persons directly for questions and application reviews. Please also note the different meeting dates and application documents.

Fact sheet on scientific ethics and data protection

Here you will find our handout on research ethics and data protection for scientists and scholars at the University of Kassel (currently only available in German).

Fact sheet on scientific ethics and data protection: Read More

Privacy information

Please inform yourself in good time about required documents for consent, clarification, and data processing for your project. Templates and contact options for consultation can be found on the page of the data protection officers [internal access].

Privacy information: Forward

Review for an evaluation by the University Ethics Committee

For an ethical evaluation of a project, researchers of the University of Kassel from the Faculties 02, 06-16 and the School of Art and Design must first complete a self-assessment, which can be downloaded here.

Please send the completed self-assessment to the office of the University Ethics Committee. You will subsequently receive an initial evaluation as well as further information. If an additional evaluation is required, the corresponding application form will be provided at this time.



Self-Assessment Form (Word)

Here you can find the self-assessment form (Word)

Contact the office

Please send us the completed form to: ethikkommission[at]uni-kassel[dot]de

Please note: Depending on the results of the self-assessment, you will receive a further application form. Please do not use older versions, as the contents may change over time. You will always receive the latest version from the office.

Application procedure

Applications to the Committee can be submitted electronically to the office via email up to 4 weeks before a regular meeting date. The scheduled meeting dates can be found at the top of this page. Please take into account the submission deadline, which is 4 weeks before a meeting date!

An application is considered submitted once all documents are complete. The list of required documents for submission can be found in the application.

Feedback to applicants will be provided no later than 6 weeks after the Committee’s review.

Composition of the University Ethics Committee

Dr. The University Ethics Committee consists of seven members. Of these, five members come from the group of university lecturers and two members from the group of scientific mid-level staff. A back-up has been appointed for each member.

Members of the central ethics committee

  • Prof. Dr. Gerrit Hornung, FB 07 (Chair)
  • Prof. Dr. Kerstin Jürgens, FB 05
  • Prof. Dr. Carsten Keller, FB 06
  • Prof. Dr. Petra Freudenberger-Lötz, FB 02
  • Prof. Dr. Arno Müller, FB 10
  • Dr. Samuel Greef, FB 05
  • apl. Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Schaldach, CESR

Deputy members

  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Gold, FB 07
  • Prof. Dr. Jörn Lamla, FB 05
  • Prof. Dr. Angela Francke, FB 14
  • Prof. Dr. Agnieszka Komorowska, FB 02
  • Prof. Dr. Ute Knierim, FB 11
  • Dr. Marlene Batzke, CESR
  • Boris Kulig, FB 11


Office of the University Ethics Committee of the University of Kassel
Mönchebergstr. 19
34125 Kassel

Please do not send applications by post. Thank you very much.

The office can be reached for all inquiries, sending self-assessments and applications by e-mail.