Welcome to the Faculty of Mathematics and Sciences


The Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences consists of four departments (Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics) with more than 40 disciplines. The resarch focus lies on Nanosciences, Photonics and Molecular Biology. Five subject-oriented didactical research teams (STEM), including Technical Basic Education, are engaged in the field of empirical educational research.

More than 400 staff members are working at the faculty and 3.000 students are studying in more than 20 programmes.

In January 2018, the Collaborative Research Center SFB 1319 ELCH (Extreme Light for Analysis and Control of Molecular CHirality) started operations at the Department. Partners are the Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main, the Philipps University in Marburg and the German Electron Synchrotron DESY in Hamburg. Seven of the ten research groups are located at the University of Kassel.