Technomathematics (Master)

This page contains automatically translated content.

The digitalization of the world of work is also opening up new career prospects for mathematicians. The University of Kassel is responding to this with a new Technomathematics degree program that combines computer science and engineering with mathematics.

Students who have developed an appetite for more during their bachelor's studies and are planning a career in the broad fields of industry, especially in software or research and development departments, opt for the master's program in Technomathematics. Graduates are able to recognize, classify, formulate and solve complex problems of all kinds with mathematical relevance. The study orientation in the master's program is based on the choice of mathematical focus and application subjects. The choices are: Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Environmental Engineering.

The central research areas of the Institute of Mathematics are in current areas of analysis, computer algebra, optimization, stochastics and numerics. The special feature of mathematics - and especially technomathematics - at the University of Kassel is its computer and application orientation, which is particularly evident in interdisciplinary projects with the engineering sciences. All of this is necessary, but not sufficient, as one would put it in mathematics: Personally, a high scientific and technical interest, a fundamentally analytical-logical way of thinking, stamina and preferably a good knowledge of English for dealing with technical literature are required.

On the subject of job prospects: The fact that a classic job description "mathematician*in" does not exist also results in many freedoms. In fact, technomathematics graduates are sought-after specialists in a wide variety of fields. Therefore, many doors open, especially to well-paid management positions.

Master Mathematics - Technomathematics: What are the differences?

Mathematical focus
Mathematics: Algebra and Discrete Mathematics, Analysis, Numerics, Stochastics
Technomathematics: Analysis, Optimization, Numerics, Stochastics


Main application areas
Proportion in mathematics: 18
Subjects: computer science, physics, economics, nanostructure science
Proportion in technomathematics: 30%
Subjects: civil engineering, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, environmental engineering


At a glance

Degree: Master of Science


Start: Summer and winter semester


Language of instruction: German


Duration/Scope: 4 semesters


Admission restriction (NC): No

Admission requirements

  • Passed bachelor's examination in technomathematics or equivalent course of study
  • and proof of a standard period of study of at least 6 semesters
  • and proof of 180 credits


Application and enrollment procedure for the winter semester

Application with German certificates

Application Deadline:

annually 01.06. - 01.09.

You apply for this study program via our online application portal "eCampus".

How do I apply for this study program?

Application with foreign certificates

Application deadline

with foreign certificates:
annually 01.03. - 15.07.

If you are not yet studying at the University of Kassel or another university in Germany, but have obtained a first professional Bachelor's degree abroad, you must apply via the central assessment office in Berlin, uni-assist.

How do I apply with a foreign certificate?


Application and enrollment procedure for the summer semester

Application with German certificates

Application deadline

annually 01.12. - 01.03.
Application deadline for the summer semester 2024: December 20, 2023 - March 01, 2024

You apply for this study program via our online application portal "eCampus".

How do I apply for this study program?

Application with foreign certificates

Application deadline

with foreign certificates:
annually 01.09. - 15.01.

If you are not yet studying at the University of Kassel or another university in Germany, but have obtained a first professional Bachelor's degree abroad, you must apply via the central assessment office in Berlin, uni-assist.

How do I apply with a foreign certificate?


Information and advice

Enquiries

For any general admission questions, please contact our information desk.

Enquiries: Contact details

General study counseling

Subject-specific study counseling


Feedback on these study program pages

Go link of this page: www.uni-kassel.de/go/m_technomathematik/

Technomathematik (Master)

Neu­er Stu­di­en­gang ab dem Winter­semester 2020/21

Die Digitalisierung der Arbeitswelt eröffnet auch Mathematikern und Mathematikerinnen neue Berufsperspektiven. Die Universität Kassel reagiert darauf mit einem neuen Studiengang Technomathematik, der Informatik und Ingenieurwissenschaften mit Mathematik verbindet.

Wer im Bachelorstudium Lust auf mehr bekommen hat und eine Karriere in den weiten Bereichen der Industrie, vor allem in den Software- oder Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilungen plant, entscheidet sich für den Masterstudiengang Technomathematik. Absolvent*innen können komplexe Probleme aller Art mit mathematischem Bezug erkennen, einordnen, formulieren und lösen. Die Studienausrichtung im Masterstudiengang orientiert sich an der Wahl der mathematischen Schwerpunkte und der Anwendungsfächer. Zur Wahl stehen: Bauingenieurwesen, Elektrotechnik, Maschinenbau und Umweltingenieurwesen.

Die zentralen Forschungsschwerpunkte des Instituts für Mathematik liegen in aktuellen Bereichen der Analysis, Computeralgebra, Optimierung, Stochastik und Numerik. Die Besonderheit der Mathematik – und besonders der Technomathematik – an der Universität Kassel ist ihre Computer- und Anwendungsorientierung, die sich insbesondere in interdisziplinären Projekten mit den Ingenieurwissenschaften zeigt. Das alles ist notwendig, aber nicht hinreichend, wie man es in der Mathematik ausdrücken würde: Persönlich vorausgesetzt werden ein hohes naturwissenschaftliches und technisches Interesse, eine grundsätzlich analytisch-logische Denkweise, Durchhaltevermögen und möglichst gute Englischkenntnisse für den Umgang mit Fachliteratur.

Zum Thema Jobperspektiven: Aus der Tatsache, dass ein klassisches Berufsbild „Mathematiker*in“ nicht existiert, ergeben sich auch viele Freiheiten. Tatsächlich sind Technomathematik-Absolvent*innen gefragte Spezialisten in ganz unterschiedlichen Bereichen. Es öffnen sich daher viele Türen, gerade auch zu gut bezahlten Führungspositionen.

Master Ma­the­ma­tik - Technomathematik: Wo lie­gen die Un­ter­schie­de?

Mathematische Schwerpunkte
Mathematik: Algebra und Diskrete Mathematik, Analysis, Numerik, Stochastik
Technomathematik: Analysis, Optimierung, Numerik, Stochastik


Anwendungsschwerpunkte
Anteil in der Mathematik: 18%
Fächer: Informatik, Physik, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Nanostrukturwissenschaften
Anteil in der Technomathematik: 30%
Fächer: Bauingenieurwesen, Elektrotechnik, Maschinenbau, Umweltingenieurwesen


Auf ei­nen Blick

Abschluss: Master of Science


Studienbeginn: Wintersemester


Unterrichtssprache: Deutsch


Dauer/Umfang: 4 Semester


Zulassungsbeschränkung (NC): Nein

Zu­las­sungs­vor­aus­set­zun­gen

  • Bestandene Bachelorprüfung in Technomathematik oder fachlich gleichwertigem Studiengang
  • und Nachweis einer Regelstudienzeit von mind. 6 Semestern
  • und Nachweis von 180 Credits


Be­wer­bungs- und Ein­schreib­ver­fah­ren Winter­semester 2020/21

Be­wer­bung mit deu­t­­schen Zeu­g­­nis­­sen

Be­wer­bungs­­­frist

Frist verlängert
15.05.2020 - 30.09.2020

Für diesen Studiengang bewerben Sie sich über das Online-Bewerbungsportal für Masterstudiengänge der Universität Kassel.

Wie bewerbe ich mich für diesen Studiengang?

Be­wer­bung mit aus­­­län­­­di­­­schen Zeu­g­­­nis­­­sen

Be­wer­bungs­­­frist

mit ausländischen Zeugnissen:
01.05.2020 - 20.08.2020

Sollten Sie noch nicht an der Universität Kassel oder einer anderen Hochschule in Deutschland studieren, aber einen ersten berufsqualifzierenden Bachelor-Abschluss im Ausland erworben haben, müssen Sie sich über die zentrale Bewertungsstelle in Berlin, uni-assist, bewerben.

Wie bewerbe ich mich mit einem ausländischen Zeugnis?


Information und Be­ra­tung

Information Studium - In­fo­the­ke und Ser­vice­te­le­fon

All­ge­mei­ne Studien­beratung

Fach­spe­zi­fi­sche Studien­beratung


Feedback zu diesen Webseiten

Go-Link dieser Seite: www.uni-kassel.de/go/m_technomathematik/